By the bowlful

What have I been doing for the last 2 months? The answer may surprise you!

Or it may not, if you follow me on Twitter or Instagram.

Photo Apr 14, 11 45 10

The sacrifices of TGO have begun, as it has given up a few parts to TRO for the greater good of the Previa world.

Photo Mar 21, 12 05 05 Photo Mar 21, 12 02 25 Photo Mar 21, 12 12 11

First, the grotesque door panel came off TRO to be replaced by the thankfully stock and luckily color matched TGO panel. While I was at it, I also replaced the power door lock switch (which only worked in the unlock direction) as well as the stick which connects the interior door handle to the latch mechanism. As I had previously theorized, it was creepily absent.

At this point I’ve developed a skill for quickly removing Previa door panels without breaking them (resume builder!) so I decided to replace the power lock switch on the left door as well, which had only worked in the lock direction.

Photo Mar 31, 9 21 19

As an aside, I now know how I would replace “the li’lest lightbulb” which resides inside that switch, though hell if I know where I would find such a thing.

Despite the newly functional power locks, the rear hatch still refused to lock, which I suppose is better than refusing to unlock, so I decided to investigate.

I opened up the hatch and unbolted things til the latch mechanism came out. Once it was out, but still connected to the wires, I hit the lock button at door, and it moved. I hit unlock and it moved again. It was puzzling, since it certainly didn’t work when it was all together.

IMG_2311

I took the mechanism out of TGO to study how it operates and I found the whole apparatus clever and fascinating enough to bore to tears everyone I could find by explaining it.

Ultimately, it became clear that while the lock mechanism was working properly, a servo mounted on its own bracket behind was simply too tired to push with enough force to move the lock to its second detent. I installed the servo from TGO’s lock, reattached everything, including the wire with Japanese writing on it, Sealed up the plastic shield (good as new) and the power locks were once again locking at 1995 levels.

You done good, servo. That’ll do. Sorry I accidentally stepped on you after removal.

So remember those gold “Drifz” (ugh) wheels with the low profile tires? I noticed a slow leak from the right rear pretty much from the time I picked up the van. I assumed it was a hole in the tire…

Most of my readers are in the Northeast, but for those who aren’t, our roads generally make such low profile wheel/tire fitments ill advised, mostly because they’re liable to get cracked on a pothole

Photo Mar 19, 9 55 47

 

As luck would have it, Kwicksilver Wheel Repair, right down the street, was able to weld it up for $100, which is definitely less than the price of a new wheel, even if it is a “Drifz” (ugh).

In the next post, we’ll cover a few mechanical fixes, enhancements, Big Audio Difficulty, and where’s the fire? It’s in my wheelwell!

‘Til next time.

 

About previadiaries

Ride bike. Drive Van.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

