Title

A lot of you may be wondering why it’s been so long since the last update.

There was a bit of confusion involving the title on the van. I got it from the seller, he forgot the sign the back of the form, and I couldn’t get it insured, so I sent it back to him in Hopkinton, MA, which is about a 2 hour drive from Northampton.

I sent it Priority Mail on the 26th, which the post office said would probably be there on the 27th, or at worst, the 28th. It was an inconvenience, but manageable.

I followed the package tracking (which I’m really happy I sprung for) and after sorting on the 26th, it went dead. Then on the 30th, It arrived. In Catano, Puerto Ric0.

I understand the hub and spoke system, and how packages can be diverted from their routes in the name of systemic efficiency, but in this case, it went some 1700 miles in the wrong direction. I called the post office and they gave me another number to call. I called that number and they gave me a case number and said to expect a call the next day. There was no call and I called back. They gave me another phone number and there was no answer at that number.

The title then went 2 miles (across another body of water) from Catano over the San Juan. 2 days later, it’s just arrived back in Catano.

Since the tracking doesn’t provide any information beyond where it is at the moment, I have no way of knowing where it’s going, or when it will be there.

Sadly, because of the outmoded ways of the RMV, it is not an appealing prospect to get another title, and without this one unique document, the car’s ownership is up in the air, therefore making it impossible to get license plates.

Work continues on the van, this Monday will see a lot of mechanical work, but in case anyone’s wondering why there haven’t been posts and why the van hasn’t been going to races, there’s your answer.

About previadiaries

Ride bike. Drive Van.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

